Latest News

An invitation to the EU Commission

June 23, 2017

We were pleased to present Cargo Under Sail to Maroš Šefčovič, Vice President of the European Commission and the project lead for the EU Energy Union. The meeting was a… An invitation to the EU Commission

Read More

Sailing Cargo under the German Flag!

June 16, 2017

Nach langem Warten, einer Menge Geld, vielen Schriftwechseln und einer Menge Bürokratie, sind wir froh endlich die Avontuur unter deutscher Flagge zu haben. Unser Heimathafen ist jetzt offiziell Elsfleth. Dort… Sailing Cargo under the German Flag!

Read More

Oh Canada – Eh major Announcement & CALL FOR PRO CREW

June 1, 2017

MAY NEWSLETTER   Putting Cargo Under Sail and introducing wind/solar powered shipping practices to much of the world has its many introductions and news worthy mentions. We offer insight, cargo… Oh Canada – Eh major Announcement & CALL FOR PRO CREW

Read More

Thank you Bremen, Thank you Elsfleth

May 15, 2017

What a moment in time! We began sailing the AVONTUUR on July 29th, 2016 with the aim to deliver goods by wind. The goal was simple but would businesses and… Thank you Bremen, Thank you Elsfleth

Read More

Die Heimkehr der Avontuur

April 28, 2017

Am 29.04.17 kehrt die AVONTUUR heim. Am Samstag wird der Frachtsegler AVONTUUR, der Waren klimafreundlich über den Seeweg transportiert zurück nach Elsfleth kehren – dort wo seine erste große Reise… Die Heimkehr der Avontuur

Read More

Our Mission

 

We provide wind-powered cargo shipping. Our 1920’s schooner AVONTUUR is sailing in European and Caribbean waters as a tramp cargo service. The AVONTUUR is the missing link between the sustainable producer and the conscientious consumer. The statistics are clear, the current 90,000 plus container ships are destroying our oceans and spewing toxins into our atmosphere. In order for this global dependency to change we believe there must be a collaborative and viable alternative solution.

 

Our Story

 

Over the course of 20 years working in the maritime industry Cornelius Bockermann witnessed first hand how humans adversely affect our environment. He knew something had to change. In 2013, he moved with his family to Cairns and shipped all their possessions from Germany to their new home in Australia. Through the process of shipping his own goods he experienced the disconnect between commerce and environmental preservation. Upon learning of plans to expand fossil fuel based shipping along the Queensland coast and amongst the Great Barrier Reef he knew he had to act. The question became how do you offer businesses and consumers a sustainable option in shipping?
Cargo Under Sail is the answer and the Dutch schooner named the AVONTUUR is the vessel to do it.
We are a passionate collective of individuals, led by Captain Cornelius, working to create a supply chain that merges the relationship between commerce and preservation. We are restless and can no longer wait for others to make a change. 

Our Vision

 

To revive cargo shipping under sail, linking sustainable producers with conscientious consumers. We promote social and ecological sustainability in the shipping industry by being a flagship for change.

playicon

Unsere Mission

Wir bieten windbetriebene Frachtschifffahrt. Unser 1920er Schooner AVONTUUR  wird nun Fracht zwischen Europa und der Karibik segeln. Die AVONTUUR wird das fehlende Bindeglied zwischen nachhaltigen Produzenten und verantwortungsbewussten Verbrauchern sein. Denn die Zahlen sind eindeutig: Die derzeit mehr als 90.000 Containerschiffe zerstören unsere Meere und sondern Giftstoffe in unsere Atmosphäre aus. Diese weltweite Abhängigkeit muss sich ändern – wir glauben an eine gemeinschaftliche und praktische Alternative!
dsc_0670

Unsere Geschichte

Während seiner mehr als 20-jährigen Arbeitserfahrung in der Schifffahrtsindustrie konnte sich Cornelius Bockermann ein eigenes Bild davon machen, wie Menschen unsere Umwelt nachteilig beeinflussen. Er merkte, dass sich etwas ändern müsse. 2013 zog er mit seiner Familie nach Cairns und musste in dem Zusammenhang all ihren Besitz von Deutschland in seine neue Heimat nach Australien transportieren. Während er das eigene Hab und Gut zu verschiffen hatte, wurde ihm die Lücke zwischen Handel und Umweltschutz bewusst. Als er von Plänen erfuhr, dass die Schifffahrt unter Verwendung von fossilen Brennstoffen an der Küste von Queensland und innerhalb des Great Barrier Riffs ausgebaut werden sollte, wurde ihm klar, dass man handeln müsse. Die Frage, die er sich stellte: Wie kann man Unternehmen und Verbrauchern eine nachhaltige Möglichkeit derVerfrachtung bieten?
Frachtschifffahrt unter Segeln heißt die Antwort – und der holländische Schoner namens AVONTUUR ist das richtige Schiff dafür! 
 
Wir sind eine Gruppe von leidenschaftlichen Individuen, angeführt von Kapitän Cornelius, die ein Stück der Lieferkette erschaffen wollen, welches eine übergangslose Verbindung zwischen Handel und Umweltschutz herstellt. Wir sind rastlos und können nicht länger auf andere warten, um etwas zu verändern. 

Unsere Vision

Um Frachtschifffahrt unter Segeln wiederaufleben zu lassen, verbinden wir nachhaltige Hersteller mit verantwortungsbewussten Konsumenten zur Bewahrung unserer Umwelt für die nachfolgenden Generationen.